It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 22:00

Barn find (In place in bathroom)

This is where we don't want anything but evidence of your finest wood butchering in all its glorious, and photograph laden glory. Bring your finished products or WIP's, we love them all, so long as there's pictures, and plenty of 'em!

Barn find (In place in bathroom)

Postby Mike G » 23 Apr 2018, 20:31

Literally.

We were looking around an old farm shed with a farmer friend of ours a few days ago (trying to find a gate.....another story), when we stumbled across an old washstand. It was covered in rubbish, and in a parlous state, but it went straight in the back of the van. Here it is in all its glory:

Now, I'm thinking early 20th century. Edwardian, late Victorian. I'm no expert, so what do you reckon? The brass drawer handle gives something of a clue:

It's walnut. Well, unless you guys tell me otherwise:

It's been slathered in 2 different colours of green paint, has some whitewash on it, and it was stripped in caustic soda about 30 years ago. Only a couple of the glue joints haven't failed. Unfortunately, it was riddled with woodworm, including plenty of active ones. I've sloshed some anti-worm jollop over it a couple of times, but this damage means that there is no point trying to restore it. Oh, and here's the point: this is going to go in our bathroom, and serve its original purpose. We have the original marble top.

It's got a bit of a structural issue or two:

So, can anyone help me with the date? And what would you do with it?
Last edited by Mike G on 26 Apr 2018, 19:19, edited 2 times in total.
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Re: Barn find

Postby Rod » 23 Apr 2018, 23:59

Edwardian to my eyes and looks like walnut.

If it’s not worth restoring I don’t know why/what you are asking?
Build a new unit using the marble top and perhaps the tiles.

Rod
Rod
Old Oak

Name:

Postby Mike G » 24 Apr 2018, 08:32