It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 13:46

I know it's not cricket....but....

Hang up your Chisels and Plane blades and take a load off with a recently turned goblet of your favourite poison, in the lounge of our Gentlemen's (and ladies) Club.

I know it's not cricket....but....

Postby Lons » 24 Jul 2021, 18:23

As someone who very rarely watches cricket because I find it soooooo slow I'm finding the 100 matches on at the minute very enjoyable, does that make me an unwashed heathen Michael sir?
I've even watched a couple of the ladies matches though I admit I prefer beach volleyball. :lol:
I have a degree in faffing about (It must be true, my wife says so)
Lons
Old Oak

Name: Bob

Re: I know it's not cricket....but....

Postby Doug » 24 Jul 2021, 18:43

I prefer the test cricket but have to admit it’s been nice to get ball by ball on terrestrial tv, finally something worth having a television for.
As for the 100 itself it’s a bit of a lottery but quite exciting all the same & like you Bob I’ve watched the ladies & enjoyed that too.
Doug
Old Oak

Name:

Postby Andyp » 24 Jul 2021, 19:16

I too have enjoyed watching the hundred. International cricketers playing with some relative unknowns from the home nations. It has been dumbed down and jazzed up in some respects to try an attract a younger audience and hence more youngsters playing the game. Both of which could have been achieved with the existing formats of the game had they been on free to air TV.
I do not think therefore I do not am.

cheers
Andy
Andyp
Petrified Pine

Name: Andy

Postby Mike G » 24 Jul 2021, 20:04

No. Just no......
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Postby Blackswanwood » 24 Jul 2021, 20:44

I cannot make up my mind about the hundred. I don’t want to like it but keep finding myself watching it. Having been to a few IPL games I’d say it’s worth it for the experience but not to try and watch cricket.
Blackswanwood
Nordic Pine

Name: Robert

Postby novocaine » 24 Jul 2021, 20:57